Does That Voice in Your Head Get Louder at Night

Teresa Bacal
4 min readOct 4, 2020

8 Ways to Calm the Chatter in Your Head Before You Attempt to Sleep

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

Now more than ever, stress and anxiety are at an all-time high for many of us. With the pandemic, economic uncertainty, political issues and social unrest creating intense concern, is anyone getting any sleep? Fear of COVID, loss of jobs and income, business and school closures on such a grand scale are testing the resolve of millions of people. On any particular evening, various studies show that between 50–70 million people have trouble sleeping.

I am one of those millions, not sleeping. As the days drag on and turn into months, my regular employment seems to be a distant memory and the hope of returning to that job, less probable. The weight of the government lockdowns and delayed reopening of business and industry, takes a heavy toll and creates more stress for me every day. I can keep my mind busy during the day but at night that little voice gets loud. My mind races every night rummaging through the same questions:

  • How long do I wait until I actively search for a new job?
  • How did we allow ourselves to get so divided?
  • Will we ever recover from this financially?
  • What will things look like in 6 months or a year?

--

--

Teresa Bacal

Always looking for ways to Live Better | Addicted to Travel | Serial Entrepreneur | Outdoor Enthusiast | Event Consultant | www.JTGrey.com |